Congratulations to our Gold Humanism Honor Society honoree: Julia Close, MD

Julia Close
Julia Close, MD

The Gold Humanism Honor Society (GHHS) recognizes students, residents and faculty who are exemplars of compassionate patient care and who serve as role models, mentors, and leaders in medicine. GHHS members are peer nominated and are the ones that others say they want taking care of their own family. The following UF faculty and residents were inducted into the Chapman Chapter of GHHS:

· Dean Adrian Tyndall
· Julia Close
· Juan Vilaro
· Michelle Dimza
· Jerin George
· Diana Hatamleh
· Andres Lopez
· Kelsey Pan
· Sarah Pang
· Mindy Wang
· Kruti Yagmik

Additionally, I’d like to recognize Ryan Nall on winning the Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award. This award recognizes graduating students and faculty members who demonstrate both clinical excellence and outstanding compassion in the delivery of care and who show respect for patients, their families, and healthcare colleagues.

Furthermore, Dr. Marc Zumberg and Molly Mandernach won the Golden Apple for Best Basic Science Course. This is the 4th year in a row that Hematology Oncology has won this award!

I am incredibly proud of our Department of Medicine students, residents and faculty! Please join me in congratulating these individuals on their amazing accomplishments!

Jamie B. Conti, MD, FACC
Chair of Medicine | Department of Medicine
Professor of Medicine |University of Florida
AHA Eminent Scholar in Cardiology